PA TRAFFIC TICKET POINTS AND PENALTIES
Pennsylvania follows a points system, whereby drivers are assessed points on their driving record upon convictions of certain types of offenses. Under the PA Points System, drivers will be subject to sanctions which can be very harsh. Some serious traffic offenses in PA carry automatic license suspensions, even for those with clean driving records.
The list below illustrates some of the most common Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code and Pennsylvania Crimes Code traffic violations that can impact your driving privileges. As always, if you are cited with a traffic offense, you are encouraged to contact our firm for representation.
DISCLAIMER: The list of traffic and criminal offenses is not exhaustive, as there are offenses not listed above which can lead to the accrual of points and/or license suspensions. If you are facing a traffic offense, you should never rely upon information found on the internet in making an important legal decision. It is highly recommended that you contact our firm, or another traffic ticket attorney for a consultation.
WHAT ARE THE MOST COMMON PA TRAFFIC TICKETS THAT CARRY POINTS OR SUSPENSIONS?
Motor Vehicle Code Violations
Section 1516 - Violation of restriction on driver’s license: 2 points and $25 fine
Section 1571 - Violation concerning license: 3 points and $100 fine
Section 1786f - Required financial responsibility: 90 day license suspension and $300 fine
Section 3102 - Failure to obey policeman or authorized person: 2 points and $25 fine
Section 3112(a)(3)(i) or (ii) - Failure to stop at red light: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3302 - Failure to yield half of roadway to oncoming vehicle: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3303 to 3305 - Improper passing: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3306(a)(1) - Improper Passing: 4 points and $25 fine
Section 3306(a)(2) and (3) and Section 3307 - Other improper passing: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3310 - Following too closely: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3321 and 3322: Failure to yield offenses: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3323(b) and (c) - Failure to stop for stop sign or yield for yield sign: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3324 - Failure to yield when entering roadway between intersections: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3327 - Duty of driver in emergency response situation: 90 day mandatory license suspension and $250 fine
Section 3332 - Improper turning around: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3341(a) - Failure to obey signal indicating approach of train: 2 points and $25 fine
Section 3341(b): Failure to comply with crossing gate or barrier: 4 points and 30 day license suspension
Section 3342(b) or (e) - Failure to stop are railroad crossing: 4 points and fine ranging from $200 to $500
Section 3344 - Failure to stop when entering from alley, driveway or building: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3345(a) - Overtaking School Bus - Failure to stop for school bus with flashing red lights: 5 points and 60 day suspension
Section 3361 - Driving too fast for conditions: 2 points and $35 fine
Section 3362 - Speeding or Exceeding Maximum Speed: Fines are $35 plus $2 for every mile per hour over the speed limit
5 mph or less: 0 points plus fines
6-10 mph over: 2 points plus fines
11-15 mph over: 3 points plus fines
16-25 mph over: 4 points plus fines
26-30 mph over: 5 points plus fines
31+ mph over: 5 points, departmental hearing and additional sanctions, to include suspension, driver improvement school, and/or road examination.
Work Zone Speeding: If 11+ mph over the speed limit, a 15 day suspension
Section 3365(b) - Exceeding special speed limit in school zone: 3 points and 60 days suspension for a 2nd or subsequent offense
Section 3365(c) - Exceeding special speed limit for trucks on downgrades: 3 points and fines
Section 3542(a) and 3547 - Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk or sidewalk: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3702 - Improper backing: 3 points and $25 fine
Section 3714(a) - Careless driving: 3 points and fine of up to $300. NOTE: Careless Driving Causing Unintentional Death carries a 6-month license suspension and Careless Driving Causing Serious Bodily Injury carries a 3-month license suspension.
Section 3736(a) - Reckless Driving: 6 month mandatory license suspension and $200 minimum fine
Section 3745 - Leaving scene of accident involving property damage: 4 points, $300 fine and up to 90 days in jail.
Criminal Violations Carrying License Suspensions
Section 1532(a)(1) - Felony Involving Motor Vehicle: 1 year suspension
Section 6307 - Misrepresentation of age to secure liquor: 90 day license suspension for 1st offense, 1 year suspension for 2nd offense and 2 year suspension for 3rd or subsequent offense which applies to any guilty plea, conviction, juvenile adjudication or acceptance of ARD
Section 6309 - Underage Drinking: 90 day license suspension for 1st offense, 1 year suspension for 2nd offense and 2 year suspension for 3rd or subsequent offense which applies to any guilty plea, conviction, juvenile adjudication or acceptance of ARD
Section 6310.3 - Possession or Use of Fake ID card: 90 day license suspension for 1st offense, 1 year suspension for 2nd offense and 2 year suspension for 3rd or subsequent offense which applies to any guilty plea, conviction, juvenile adjudication or acceptance of ARD
Title 35 - Violations of the Controlled Substances Act: 6-month license suspension for 1st offense, 1-year suspension for 2nd offense, and 2 year suspension for 3rd or subsequent offense, applies to any offense under the Controlled Substances act involving sale, possession, delivery, offering for sale, or giving away controlled substance under laws of United States, Pennsylvania, or any state
Section 3929(b)(1.1)(iii) - Retail Theft of Motor Fuel: 30 day suspension for 3rd and subsequent offense
Let us work to solve your traffic ticket problems. Call us 24/7 - 412-447-5580.