PITTSBURGH GUN CHARGES AND FIREARMS DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Given the ongoing threat of mass shootings nationwide, members of law enforcement in Pennsylvania are cracking down on firearms related violations. There are three main types of gun charges under Pennsylvania's Uniform Firearms Act: Carrying a Firearm Without a License, Persons Not to Possess, Possession of Firearm With Altered Manufacturer's Number, and the Unlawful Sale/Transfer of a Firearm. Another common weapons offense is the Prohibited Offensive Weapons charge.
Carrying a Firearm Without a License: Applies when any person carries a firearm in a vehicle or concealed on or about his person, except in the home or place of business, without a valid and lawfully issued license. This crime is a 3rd Degree Felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison if you are not eligible for a valid license to carry, and a 1st Degree Misdemeanor punishable by up to 5 years in prison if you are otherwise eligible for a valid carry license.
Persons Not to Possess: For a person who has been convicted of certain types of offenses, he/she is not permitted to possess, use, control, sell, transfer or manufacture a firearm, or obtain a license for that purpose. There are approximately 38 types of convictions that can make you a Person Not to Possess, including Homicide and Manslaughter, Possession With Intent to Deliver (PWID), most Sex Crimes, Robbery, and Burglary. This crime is a 2nd Degree Felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
Possession of Firearm With Altered Manufacturer's Number: Prohibits anyone from possessing a firearm which has had the manufacturer's number integral to the frame or receive altered, changed, removed or obliterated. This crime is a 2nd Degree Felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
Unlawful Sale/Transfer of a Firearm: Prohibits a purchaser of firearms from knowingly and intentionally providing a fake ID, or making material false oral or written statements, including those on firearms purchase forms, in connection with the purchase, delivery or transfer of a gun. This crime is a 3rd Degree Felony punishable by up to 7 years in prison.
Another charge that might apply is the Prohibited Offensive Weapons charge, which prohibits a person from making, repairing, selling, or dealing in, using or possessing an offensive weapon. Examples of offensive weapons include sawed-off shotguns, brass knuckles, switchblades and stun guns.
DEFENDING YOUR GUN OR WEAPONS CASE
The law covering gun crimes is very complex, and requires a careful analysis by a qualified criminal defense attorney. Most individuals charged with a gun or weapons offense are facing lengthy prison sentences. If you are charged with a gun offense in connection with certain drug or violent crimes offenses, you may be facing enhanced penalties.
Attorney Dave Zuckerman is a former prosecutor of gun, firearms and weapons cases, and uses this experience to provide a vigorous defense to those accused of unlawful firearms possession. For a free consultation, call him today at 412-447-5580.