PITTSBURGH AND WESTERN PA FURNISHING ALCOHOL TO MINORS DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Most adults know that it's a crime to give alcohol to someone under the age of 21. Pennsylvania law treats the crime of furnishing alcohol to minors harshly.
Graded as a 3rd Degree Misdemeanor under Title 18 Section 6310.1 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code, you can be charged with furnishing alcohol to minors if you intentionally and knowingly furnish, or purchase with the intent to sell or furnish, any liquor or malt or brewed beverages to a person who is less than 21 years of age.
If charged with a Furnishing Alcohol to Minors Offense, you're facing the following penalties:
- Maximum sentence of up to 1-year in jail;
- Mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 each subsequent violation;
- Mandatory driver's license suspension of 90-days for the first offense, 1-year for the second offense, and 2 years for a third or subsequent offense;
- A permanent criminal record.
Also, if you're a college student, you're likely to face disciplinary action from your university which could include a suspension or expulsion from school. If you're in a fraternity or sorority, you may find that your chapter is facing disciplinary action as well.
WHY AM I BEING CHARGED WITH FURNISHING ALCOHOL TO MINORS?
When most people think of a furnishing alcohol to minors offense, they think of vendors selling beer to underage teenagers, or socially irresponsible parents who actively host drinking parties for their kids. But there are many more scenarios where charges may apply under the statute.
Under Section 6310.6, the term furnish is defined as follows: to supply, give or provide to, or allow a minor to possess on premises or property owned or controlled by the person charged.
As you can see from this definition, a furnishing alcohol to minors charge can apply to a wide array of scenarios. Our firm has seen this charge filed against adults under the following circumstances:
- A parent who permits his/her children to invite friends to the home, but is unaware that their child and underage guests are drinking until police arrive;
- A 21 or 22 year old college student who buys alcohol for minors, whether or not present at the location where alcohol is consumed by minors;
- An adult who hosts a house or apartment party where minors are present, even if the adult did not purchase or provide the alcohol consumed, and the minors present are not charged with underage drinking;
- A fraternity or sorority member, namely a social chair or member of the executive board, who supplies alcohol or otherwise invites minors into a frat or sorority party;
- Roommates who host a party where an underage drinker gets sick or sustains injury.
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may also be charged with Corruption of Minors, Disorderly Conduct, and other offenses.
HOW ZUCKERMAN LAW FIRM CAN HELP
If you've been charged with furnishing alcohol to minors, you need a dedicated criminal defense attorney to interview witnesses and help build your defense. At the Zuckerman Law Firm, we have defended parents and students charged with underage drinking related offenses throughout Allegheny County and the surrounding counties in Western Pennsylvania.
For a free confidential consultation, call Zuckerman Law Firm today at 412-447-5580.